Our Grade II listed building dates back to the 18th Century and sits under a thatched roof in the picturesque village of Stoke Goldington. There are 620 residents in the village which itself sits on the northern most tip of the Buckinghamshire border.
In 1830 there were seven coaching Inns in the village, with approx. 28 heavily laden horse drawn coaches passing through the village each day on their 190 mile journey between London and Liverpool usually requiring a team change every 10 miles.
The Malting House Restaurant & Bar is steeped in history and records show that the site consisted of a Malting House, in which ale was brewed, and a Blacksmiths. In 1753 a certain Jeremiah Brooks become the owner of the property trading as one of the seven coaching Inns in the village. The business then continued as an Ale House, gaining a spirit licence in 1930 and from this date continued as a public house – The White Hart. Business continued under various ownerships until finally closing in January 2011.
The building remained closed for almost two years undergoing a major refurbishment in the latter part of 2012, reopening as a Restaurant & Bar in November 2012 under the new name of ‘The Malting House’ in recognition of the Malt house operation which had operated on adjacent land.
The Malting House now offers a very warm welcome, where all of our staff are committed to providing an excellent service. With dishes prepared by our chef from locally sourced produce to satisfy the most discerning taste and a bar offering a range of traditional ales, wines, spirits, and minerals we are confident that you will want to return to enjoy our hospitality time and time again.